A Year, Less a Day

For those who didn’t hear, I am finally employed. On Monday I started with the London Heritage Council as the new Heritage Portal and Social Media Coordinator. For those unfamiliar with LHC here is an overview:

The London Heritage Council (LHC) is a not-for-profit umbrella organization established in 2007.  The mission of the LHC is to enhance the quality of life of all Londoners through the preservation, promotion and celebration of heritage and cultural resources and activities, and to encourage a sense of place and civic memory in London’s diverse cultural community.

After applying for countless jobs over the last several months, I was relieved to receive the news that I would be joining the team at LHC. I was also thrilled with the opportunity to work in a role that I feel really supports my current skills and will help to develop skills I am interested in. The news also came at a bit of personal milestone for me. On August 14th, 2009 I left my “steady” career in the automotive sector to go back to school for Not for Profit Management and start making positive change in the world. Exactly one year less a day later my goal was achieved. This gave me a great sense of accomplishment and pride that had been missing from my life when I decided to leave the factory. I am not one to believe in fate or destiny, but it was pretty darn cool!

I was excited to start my first day on Monday and couldn’t help but be a little bit nervous as well. This was the first time in a long while that I was going into an organization as a new employee in an existing role. My nerves were calmed almost instantly as I walked into the office and was greeted by the excited and eager faces that I would call my new colleagues, not to mention the “London Fog” tea waiting at my new desk for me. I instantly felt like one of the team and was excited to get up to speed on my role, the organization and the future of the heritage community. After a lengthy discussion with the Executive Director, Andrea Hallam, I was amazed at the progressive culture that she has created within the organization. Future focused and willing to take chances is not something you usually hear of in the Not-for-Profit sector. Her respect for personal time and understanding of Work/Life balance was also a refreshing bit of good news. Andrea definitely has an amazing grasp on team morale, organizational development and the satisfaction of making change in the community and this only made settling in that much easier.

The rest of the week was filled with meetings and introductions to some of the other people and organization that I would be working with. At the end of each day, I felt like I had accomplished more and I actually started to settle in to my work. I look forward to taking on the coming week as I now feel like I am a functioning part of the team.

A big shout out to all of you (you know who you are) who sent positive recommendations to Andrea during the selection process. I feel truly fortunate to have your support and it has definitely been great inspiration to do you all proud.

Another HUGE shout out to Kevin Van Lierop for all his support. Kevin and I were both struggling to find our place in a rewarding career in London and we often vented to one another about the challenges of finding a career you can be proud of. Kevin is an extraordinary community contributor and has taught me a lot about being a valuable citizen of London. I wish Kevin the best of luck as he continues his career search and look forward to maintaining a strong friendship with him.

~ by A Gathering of Geeks on August 22, 2010.

5 Responses to “A Year, Less a Day”

  1. Ya know, your story is much the same as mine, but you were able to find your “place” a lot quicker. It took me 3 years, and now, I’ve come to realize, I wasn’t looking for a job, it was a vocation, and I do sincerely believe that my I have found my calling.

    I, too, had gone through the not-for-profit management course in 2006/2007, and was rolling merrily along a couple of days a month studying the various modules in the program, and it was in the last course on the last day that a very special speaker came and talked to the class. Her name is Michelle Baldwin, and I’ve told her and I’ll tell anyone who wants to hear, for me this was a life-changing moment.

    So, clarkey, I bid you a welcome to your call. The world needs more like you – young, enthusiastic, forward thinking and maybe with a little bit of P&V.

    Perhaps our paths will cross in future endeavours.

  2. They just gave you a London Fog? Man! That does sound like a sweet gig. :p

    Hooray, I am glad you found something and I am glad it sounds awesome. 🙂

  3. Congrats Jason!

    We can all learn a lot from you – the importance of goal setting, remaining dedicated and passionate to help realize our dreams, staying positive and humble…

    Thanks for sharing your journey and thanks for continuing to inspire. Cheese, sorry, but it’s all true. 😉

  4. Jason what a great post! We miss you at Pillar but are happy to hear that you settling in and enjoying your new job. Searching for a job is a humbling experience and I do believe that things happen for a reason!

  5. Congrats on what sounds like a great start. London’s lucky to have a quality dude like you working toward making it a better place.

Leave a Reply

 
