Stars Aligning?

I had a moment this morning and I am not sure what to do about it.

For those who don’t know, we are selling our house and have been looking to move to the Old East Village area as we feel that we are die hard EOA folks. With the municipal election coming this fall we wanted to see what Ward we would be moving to so that we can start researching its candidates to make  an informed vote when the time comes. I was kind of surprised to see that we will still be in Ward 4 which has been our ward for the last 5 years. This is what got me thinking.

Over the last 5 years I have devoted a lot of my time to the greater London community with many different organizations including London FusePark(ing) Day, London Poetry SlamThe Arts Project, Pillar Nonprofit NetworkReforest London and London Fringe. I get involved because I care about my community and I truly enjoy filling up my schedule with things that I know are making a difference for someone. I have already stated to Katrina that I would like to get involved with organization that already exist in our new community such as the Old East Village Business Improvement Area and the Old East Village Community Association and I look forward to bringing some new ideas to the table. 

My interest in municipal politics has also been growing over the last couple of years. Seeing the impact of my efforts with smaller groups has sparked my interest in working on a much larger scale for much larger impacts. Events like ChangeCamp London have also played a part in my growing interest of politics and engagement. The thought of running for council and even mayor have definitely crossed my mind a time or two but was quickly dismissed as wishful thinking.

Finally, as of August 6th I will be once again with out work as my contract with Pillar will expire. My hope is to secure another job by then, but as fewer and fewer jobs show up in my job search I am worried that I will be back to day long track pants and movie marathons (not complaining). So what dawned on me this morning was the idea to combine my love of community involvement, growing interest in politics and pending unemployment by running for council in Ward 4. By no means is this an announcement that I am actually heading down to City Hall today to fill out my papers for candidacy, but rather just and exploratory reflection. There are some major issues that would come along with running that I am struggling to get over.

  • Campaign Costs – Buying a house, not having a job and running a campaign don’t seem to mesh well together.
  • Experience – Granted my experience with many Not for Profits and my schooling would led some experience, but is it enough?
  • Timing – The election falls dangerously close to one of the busiest times of the year for me, LSFS season!

I am not sure how this well develop but I have sparked a fire inside myself to at least look into it deeper and explore my options. I would love feedback from all of you as I truly value your opinions and know that elections is an important step in shaping the future of London. Are the stars aligning or is heat playing tricks with my mind?

~ by A Gathering of Geeks on July 7, 2010.

5 Responses to “Stars Aligning?”

  1. Sounds like you’ve given this a lot of thought. If the pieces are coming together in this manner, I say you go with it. Life occasionally presents us with opportunities like this. There will never be a perfect time, but it sounds pretty close.

  2. DO IT! We can start fund-raising today. We need more people like you on council.

  3. LOL! I love that this is the first I’m hearing of this destiny of yours! I’d vote for you 😉

  4. Oh that’s what you meant! lol. Well I say go for it! Especially if you have the support of your wife! I think you’d make a great candidate, we need more people our age involved in the political process. Your experience more than qualifies you, and I think the sooner you start the better off you’ll be. Besides even if you don’t win learning how to run a political campaign looks pretty good on a resume.

  5. What we can say Jason is that we are a lucky city whether you run or not because you care so much about community building and do so for reasons of true interest in improvement and positive change… Not personal gain

Leave a Reply

 
